Let’s look at the world from above…

There are two things I keep doing while traveling – looking for amazing churches to visit (for some reason they smooth my soul) and towers or anything with steps or without them to climb. I sometimes go down a lot of stairs first, like in Sardinia, trying to reach Neptune’s Grotto, and then climb back. It is still the same thing, just different order.

DSCF3135
Stairs leading to the Grotto
DSCF3153
Almost there

I absolutely adore feeling free when looking at the city from above, breathing the same air as the birds, watching small figures of people going about their businesses, smiling at cars looking like toys… The view is always the biggest reward after the climb. No matter how high I have to go and no matter how tired I am after, I would do it again. 

IMG_5568
Roofs of Copenhagen

I climbed in Rome, I climbed in London. I could not resist climbing in Copenhagen, Paris and Prague. I even climbed in my home town – Szczecin, Poland. I saw red roofs of Lisbon and distinctive college roofs in Oxford. I climb in Krakow, and when we went to Tunisia – I climbed on a roof of Tunisian souk. I climbed in Portugal and in Scotland.

260062_2259343805812_7014280_n
The view from copula of St. Peter’s Basilica
387478_2858956955766_910726308_n
At the top of the souk in Hammamett, Tunisia.

I am going to climb in Barcelona – Sagrada Familia, wait for me. I will climb in Bologna and I will find something to climb in Vilnius. I will climb again, when revisiting Berlin and I do not mind doing another Salisbury cathedral tower tour. I would go and visit beautiful Bahá’í Gardens just for the sake of looking at Haifa from above…

10502120_10204272225428522_394545433388956729_n
Haifa – the view from the top of Bahá’í Gardens

Looking at the world from the higher level allows me to take everything in and keep my distance. I love the feeling of being free and having so much space around. I feel complete unity with the world and myself, I do not remember anything what could upsets me or make me feel bad. There is just me and the space, the air and the beauty, the freedom and the moment. Moment which I climbed for.

paryż 2012 099
Paris from the steps of Sacré-Cœur

I would honestly struggle to choose my favorite climbing spot, although  viewing Rome from copula of St. Peter’s Basilica was an amazing experience. I suppose it is because I have two things I love in one place – the church and the climb. 

264494_2259344245823_5971677_n - Copy
Vatican from the copula of St Peter Basilica
263195_2259344965841_404705_n
View on St. Peter square from Copula of St. Peter cathedral
268920_2259344645833_8008547_n
View of Rome from Copula of St. Peter cathedral

 I really enjoyed climbing inside the Round Tower in Copenhagen, where in the past a carriage with King Frederik II was slowly climbing to visit an astronomical observatory situated at the top   – no steps at all, just relaxing stroll along.

IMG_5887-Optimized
Inside the Round Tower

IMG_5904-Optimized

I loved the wind at the top of Vor Frelserskirke Church and its spiky tower with steps and very steep stairs – you could have a very good look at Copenhagen and enjoy freedom of being there, looking through the metal fence. From above everything looks somehow familiar, no matter where you are. 

IMG_5569-Optimized
At the top of Vor Frelserskirke Church

IMG_5560

For me, apart form buying fridge magnets (if I remember!) these climbs are my favorite holidays souvenirs. The chance to take the place in by looking from above is a unique and amazing experience. 

Grotte di Nettuno

Rundetårn

Church of Our Saviour

St. Peter’s Basilica

Basilique du Sacre-Coeur

Bahá’í Gardens in Haifa

Hammamet

6 thoughts on “Let’s look at the world from above…”

  1. Interesting perspective. I think it can be a good way to get a feel for a place, especially a big city. Going up the Empire State helped me understand how Manhattan fitted together, and the scale of the place. The sky tower in Melbourne showed me the docks that used – I think – to be among the busiest in the world but you could stay there and not even know there were any docks. The view from the Peak in Hong Kong – especially at night – is one of the great bucket lists sights of the place

    Like

    1. I agree. You go up and look at the place and there it is, all for you only. The thing is I did not really climb on any excicing buildings, very tall etc, but for me personally the opportunity to take in different perspective on traveling is all that matters. Perhaps in the future I will be happy with sailing and looking at the sea, but now – let’s climb 🙂

      Like

  2. Veronique I love taking the high road! Your images take me back to a few spots I visited from high above. Kathmandu Nepal stands out in my mind. We hiked up to a temple on the top of a mountain and were treated to stunning views of the old city. I enjoyed it so much and I also enjoyed your pictures from such breathtaking spots too.

    The Vatican view is cool because it almost looks like a triangle; see what I mean, with the road and the row of homes meeting at the top of the image?

    Loving the images and your post here…..thanks so much!

    Ryan

    Like

Leave a Reply

